Skip to main content

Hudson Valley STR Regulation Resources

Short Term Rental regulations in the Hudson Valley are moving to the forefront of conversation within our industry. The majority of our vacation rental homes are located in Ulster County, Greene County and Dutchess County. Below we’ve broken down each county, town and hamlets along with pertinent short term rental information.

Due Diligence: These resources are here to serve as a helpful overview for short term rental legislation in the Hudson Valley. We strongly advise all readers to subscribe to local and statewide publications to monitor all current updates to their local, county and state legislation.

Ulster County

Any facility providing lodging in in Ulster County is required to submit the County of Ulster Hotel and Motel Room Occupancy Tax Registration Form.

Towns: Denning, Esopus, Gardiner, Hardenburgh, Hurley, Kingston, LLoyd, Marbletown, Marlborough, New Paltz, Olive, Plattekill, Rochester, Rosendale, Saugerties, Shandaken, Shawangunk, Ulster, Wawarsing, Woodstock

The town’s below fall within Ulster County and have a short term rental application to be completed in conjunction with the Ulster County Certificate of Authority.

Town of Hurley

*Submit application for STR Permit.*

(Hurley, West Hurley, Glenford)

Town of Marbletown

*Submit application for STR Permit.*

(Atwood, High Falls, Lapla, Lomontville, Lyonsville, Pacama, Stone Ridge)

Town of Olive 

*Currently NOT accepting new applications. * (January 2023)

(Ashokan, Brodhead, Boiceville, Brown’s Station, Krumville, Olivebridge, Samsonville, Shokan, West Shokan)

Town of Rochester

*Submit application for STR Permit. Accepting new applications. (January 2023)*

(Accord, Alligerville, Cherrytown, Fantinkill, Granite, Kerhonkson, Liebhart, Kyserike, Mettacahonts, Mill Hook, Minniwaska, Mombaccus, Palentown, Pataukunk, Pine Bush, Potterville, Riggsville, St. Joseph, Tabasco, Whitfield, Yagerville)

Town of Saugerties

*Submit application for STR Permit. Note zoning may differ for the Village of Saugerties.*

(Asbury, Blue Mountain, Canoe Hill, Centerville, Eavesport, Fish Creek, Flatbush, Glasco, Glenerie, High Woods, Katsbaan, Malden-on-Hudson, Manorville, Mount Marion Park, Quarryville, Saxton, Saugerties South, Shultis Corners, Veteran, West Camp, West Saugerties)

Town of Shandaken

*Currently NOT accepting new applications. Their cap of 150 Short Term Rental Licenses has been met. They are not issuing anymore Absent Owner Licenses. ( January 2023)*

(Allaben, Beechford, Big Indian, Bushnellsville, Highmount, Mt. Pleasant, Mt. Tremper, Oliverea, Phoenicia, Pine Hill, Shandaken, Woodland Valley)

Dutchess County

Towns: Amenia, Beekman, Clinton, Dover, East Fishkill, Hyde Park, La Grange, Milan, North East, Pawling, Pine Plains, Pleasant Valley, Poughkeepsie, Red Hook, Rhinebeck, Stanford, Union Vale, Wappinger, Washington

Villages: Fishkill, Millbrook, Millerton, Pawling, Red Hook, Rhinebeck, Tivoli, Wappingers Falls

Hamlets: Annadale-on-Hudson, Arthursburg, Bangall, Castle Point, Fishkill Plains, Glenham, Holmes, Hopewell Junction, Hughsonville, Lithgow, Mabbettsville, Millbrook, Pecksville, Pleasant Plains, Poughquag, Quaker Hill, Shenandoah, Shekomeko, Staatsburg, Stanfordville, Stormville, Van Keurens, Verbank, Wiccopee

Greene County

Towns: Ashland, Athens, Cairo, Catskill, Coxsackie, Durham, Greenville, Halcott, Hunter, Jewett, Lexington, New Baltimore, Prattsville, Windham

Villages: Athens, Catskill, Coxsackie, Hunter, Tannersville

Hamlets: Acra, Cornwallville, Climax, Earlton, Freehold, Hannacroix, Hensonville, Lanesville, Oak Hill, Surpise, Maplecrest

Town Of Catskill

Submit application for STR permit.